Best Freeware Utilities, Hopstop Update

June 8, 2008 at 2:29 AM Leave a comment

I like free utilities that perform as advertised. Some of these applications work as well or better than commercial products. There are many articles out there that claim to list the best free utilities that will make your digital life run smoothly. Here is a list I have found myself returning to time and time again: The Best-ever Freeware Utilities List, http://www.techsupportalert.com/dr/

Hopstop update: I tested two of the three mobile features Hopstop, http://www.hopstop.com/ , offers(I do not have the smartphone I would need to see the maps feature that Hopstop can display on PDAS. The Good: The SMS feature functions as advertised. I sent a text message(SMS) to Hopstop – – I wanted directions from a location downtown on the west side of New York City to a destination on the upper west side. In very short order I received five text messages from Hopstop. The instructions they sent were correct and were clear enough to be serviceable. The Bad: If you do not have a text messaging plan, all of these text messages may take a sizable bite out of your wallet. Hopstop’s voice feature lets you speak into your cell phone to ask Hopstop for directions. The directions will still be sent to you in the form of a text message. The voice feature only works for street directions in New York. The voice feature had trouble understanding what I said. I had to repeat my requests several times.

I do not have a smart phone; I was unable to test the maps feature. Perhaps one of you kind smart phone owners will test out the maps feature and let me know what she thinks. The Ugly: I find it easier to use a map or ask for directions. Hopstop sometimes gave me directions that made my trips longer than they needed to be.

Got a question? Want to let the world know about a cool website, hot application, or a neat gadget? Drop us a line at asktonyc@aol.com

“Surf Fast, Surf Free!” (TM)

Entry filed under: cool websites, hot applications. Tags: , , .

Hopstop and Phonezoo Games Update 3G Apple iphone, Apple Worldwide Developer Conference (WWDC)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Ask Tony C At Work

www.asktonyc.com

asktonyc’s Twitter

RSS Ask Tony C


