Palm Pre vs iPhone OS 3.0

March 18, 2009 at 1:08 PM 4 comments

iphone-3g-vs-palm-pre

It just got more difficult to decide which phone has more to offer: the Palm Pre or the Apple iPhone OS 3.0. The iPhone OS 3.0, scheduled to appear this summer, will address several shortcomings of its predecessor: cut and paste functionality, MMS messaging (for sending audio and images with messages), improved search using spotlight (borrowed from Apple’s desktop OS X platform), and improved synchronization – iPhone 3.0 adds CALDAV and .ics to its Exchange support to give users the choice of working with Google Calendar, Yahoo! Calendar, and to allow for sharing calendars.

The Palm Pre has a 3.2 megapixel camera with autofocus; the iPhone 3.0 OS has a 2.0 megapixel fixed-focus camera. Palm Pre has GPS navigation, Apple says it will open iPhone 3.0’s GPS functionality to third party developers. The Pre allows multiple applications to run at the same time – iPhone OS 3.0 does not.

My thoughts: With  OS 3.0, Apple will keep a lot of it’s previous supporters happy – many of them will stick with the iPhone. The Apple App Store is very popular and well stocked. The Palm Pre uses a new platform, webOS. As such, applications for the Pre are being made from scratch. Only time will tell if the Palm Pre can start to catch up in the applications area. I am curious about the Pre’s battery: with a large display and the ability to run multiple applications, will the Palm Pre’s battery last throughout the day? At least I can replace the Pre’s battery – I can not replace the iPhone OS 3.0 battery. The iPhone OS 3.0 is a free upgrade for those of you who already have the iPhone OS 2.0. For the iPod Touch owners in the crowd, the upgrade to OS 3.0 will cost $9.95

Read more Palm Pre vs iPhone OS 3.0

Entry filed under: cell phone, iphone, neat gadgets, Technology. Tags: , , , .

Palm Pre 4X Faster Than iPhone?, The Death of E-Mail, Nigerian Gets 19 years in Internet Scam IE8 – What You Should Know, Companies for Early Tech Adopters

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  January 31, 2014 at 10:18 PM

    I wonder if you feel stupid now, after writing this? LOL

    Reply
  • […] Source Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Palm and tagged 3.0">, iPhone, OS, palm, Pre, VS. Bookmark the permalink. […]

    Reply
  • 3. asktonyc  |  December 23, 2010 at 9:29 AM

    Thanks for sharing. I was initially envious of the iPhone when it first came out. My envy turned to sadness when I realized how restrictive the apps store was. I also did not like iOS environment; I say it is too restrictive for tinkerers like me.

    Reply
  • 4. Keagan  |  May 14, 2010 at 1:38 AM

    Before getting my Pre, I was envious of my friends who had iPhone’s. After having my Pre for about a year, I’m no longer envious of my friends. Yes, they have more applications, but I feel that’s all the iPhone has over the Pre. Steve Job’s finally introduced multitasking to the iPhone, but it’s way less inconvenient and dare I say uglier than the Pre’s. I think the iPhone has the potential to be much better than it is. I think the first couple things Steve should do is get rid of the crowded desktop as a home screen and choose better networks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Ask Tony C At Work

www.asktonyc.com

asktonyc’s Twitter

RSS Ask Tony C


