Skittles: Crazy Like a Fox? Geeky Linux, A Fish Calls Wanda?

March 2, 2009 at 8:53 AM 16 comments

Skittles Candy

Skittles Candy

Update #2, Thursday March 6th, 2009: Well it seems as if the Skittles campaign has been deemed a flop by the tech cognoscenti. I am still reserving judgment – the true measure of the campaign’s success will be reflected in Skittles’ 1st quarter financial statement. At that point we will be able to see if there was an uptick in sales corresponding to the point in time the new media blitz began. I am not on the fence on this story – I’m rooting for Skittles it was (and is) a gutsy move.

Update, Tuesday, March 3rd, 2009: Skittles New Ad Campaign: As usual a few bad apples  can and will spoil the barrel. The Skittles website redirects you to the Twitter search page for search term Skittles. If anyone who does not have a private Twitter account tweets anything with the word Skittles in it, it now shows up on the Skittles homepage. Thing is, some people will curse, make racist remarks and  act like asses just so they can see their crude remarks show up in a setting where they will be viewed by a lot of people. Read More Here

It isn’t every day that you see a marketing campaign that is a complete break from the past. Skittles has undertaken a strategy unlike anything I have seen. To be quite frank, I don’t know what to think of it. I’m not sure if I like it. I don’t think I understand this bold blitzkrieg. One thing I do know: Skittles has people talking about it’s latest move. If the talk translates into increased revenue, the folks behind this ad campaign will be hailed as visionaries. If this crazy Skittles advertising ploy falls flat on its face; no guts, no glory. I say: “Well done, Skittles . . Bravo! Visit Skittles Site . . . Read More About Skittles

Linux fanboys and girls, I have considered joining your ranks for some time. I have not yet joined the ranks of the geek elite – yet. I do however, have some love for my Linux using peeps. Linux Tips for Geeks

OK I don’t know whether to believe this or not. Some guy loses his cell phone in the ocean. Fish sees phone – fish swallows phone. Fisherman catches fish ( a 25 lb. cod), finds phone (Nokia), swaps SIM card and calls the lucky phone owner’s girlfriend. Everyone is happy (except the fish). Read Strange Story

More of Fish Story

Entry filed under: advertising, how to, humor. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Free Text Messages, Palm Pre TMI, I’ve Got Your Lemonade! Make Your PC Smile, Twitter VS Google, Government 2.0

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. penile corvature correction treatment  |  September 8, 2014 at 11:27 PM

    Of all the examining and competitiveness which goes on, on who has got the biggest penile.
    The resulting anxiety causes the release of adrenaline, which cuts off blood flow to the penis causing
    the loss of an erection. ‘ They can reduce the
    severity of acne in some women.

    Reply
  • 2. ideawall.in  |  September 1, 2014 at 11:46 PM

    Generally I do not read post on blogs, however I wish to
    say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and
    do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thank you, very great article.

    Reply
  • 3. http://dmoproz.com/  |  August 29, 2014 at 12:58 PM

    Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend
    your web site, how could i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit
    acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear
    idea

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Ask Tony C At Work

www.asktonyc.com